Antique Sterling Silver Chinese Porcelain Rose Medallion

18th c Famille Rose Landscape Bowl Jiaqing Mark Period

browse these categories for related items...
Directory: Antiques: Regional Art: Asian: Chinese: Porcelain: Pre 1837 VR: Item # 419536

Please refer to our stock # Jiaqing01 when inquiring.
View Seller Profile
Telephone 508 748 2313
E. Wareham, Ma

Guest Book
 Sold Christie's Hongkong 11/27/07 Lot #1774 
Sold Christie's Hongkong 11/27/07 Lot #1774

A Jiaqing period (1796-1820) famille rose scenic landscape bowl with marvelous detail, imperial mark and of the period, and accompanied with a poem. The mountain scene is a literati micro-cosm of the ideal world. It is Lu-san, one of the sacred mountains of taoism. There are pavilions and a waterfall, with little figures on the paths. Outstanding detail with flowing lines. The Tang poem is in 7 word classic verse praising the clouds, the falls and the milky way in a kind of metaphor. Seal mark and period of Jiaqing.

About 7" diameter and 3" high. Fine condition no damage. hint of grey in biscuit often characteristic of Jiaqing. Landscape porcelain with this level of detail is exceptionally rare. A brushpot example, also Jiaqing, is in the Bauer Collection, Ayers vol. 2, Pl 242, Geneva 1999 ed. It may be of the same mountain scene, different rendering.

Notes.-------------- 1) Jiaqing was the son of Qianlong and apprenticed at a monastery for a few years as a youth. It was said that the father chose him as successor due to the mercy in his heart. The youth was unwilling to shoot a deer during one of those week long Manchu hunts. Jiaqing inherited a depleted treasury and had to cut corners. It was the beginning of the decline of Qing. A devote budhist, the porcelain of his reign often had budhistic emblems. The taoist landscape was relatively rare, but is of exceptional detail when found. Quality of the biscuit is often not as fine as those of preceding reigns.

2. Time table of Qing Dynasty Emperors:
Shun-Tze 1644-1661, Kangxi 1662- 1722
Yongzhen 1723-1735, Qianlong 1736-1795
Jiaqing 1796-1820, Daoguang 1821-1850
Xiangfeng 1851-1861, Tongzhi 1862-1874
Guangxu 1875-1908, Xuantong 1909-1911