E & M PerezEllen and Michael Perez

Fine Small Mid Century Kerfed Northwest Coast Carved Box - Signed

Fine Small Mid Century Kerfed Northwest Coast Carved Box - Signed


browse these categories for related items...
Directory: Vintage Arts: Regional Art: Americas: American Indian: Pre 1980: Item # 1414202
E & M Perez
View Seller Profile
Archer
FL
352-495-4086

Guest Book
 $675.00 
Visa MasterCard American Express Discover
Well carved in cedar, this Northwest Coast box measures 4 3/4" high x 4 3/8" wide and deep. In the tradition of Haida, Salish, Tsimshian, and other First Nation tribes of the Northwest Coast, the box is kerfed and hand carved with deep traditional designs that are abstracted and stylized. The cedar has a lovely sheen, also typical of the wood as it ages. It is signed in pencil on the bottom, the name Wilson visible, with a name or initial above that is not clear. The Wilson family is well known for their craftsmanship in both wood and silver. Condition is very good, some minor scrapes to lid of box, but no chips or damage to box itself, just slight signs of wear. NOTE: there is reflection on the box, which shows as tiny white spots, but it is only reflection from photo lights. From a collection of ethnographic items, all acquired before 1980. Please see all photos for details. Shipping via USPS priority mail.